goodreads-symbol_edited.jpg

New review on Goodreads, June 23, 2021

by   Karyn H ... rated  5 stars 

"A must-read for Every Christian"

 

The Chest of Vision, by Tim Ferguson, is one story that has a lot of value to offer. It tells the story of Caperston, a city where the knowledge of God is alien. The people rely on an unjust king for a directive on what to do. At some points in this novel, I paused to think of the consequences of been led by one with no clear direction of where the road leads. The same was the faith of Caperston.

Ferguson introduces us to two groups of people in this book. The rich people of the valley and the poor mountain people are the centers of the novel. However, the case is not always true when you take a critical look at the two societies.

Mattpaul listens to the gospel and becomes enlightened. He finds himself among some mountain youths where he learns something different. He abandons his rich lineage to become an advocate for the mountain people. His quest brings him closer to the Christians of the earth and the relationship creates a deeper bond and stronger belief about God. The Chest of Vision is indeed a good book for every Christian."

"It was amazing."

chest of visions early art_edited-3.jpg
bronze-shiny-web.webp
honor-flat-web.webp
CHESTVISIONS2-color-MED-RES.jpg

Below are more reviews of The Chest of Visions Series

Let the Youth Inspire You ...

Read the story of the World of Caperston and its believers in the Chest of Visions Series

New Review from Amazon.com:

The Chest of Visions: Secrets of Caperston by Tim Ferguson is the story of another planet that has no knowledge of God and discovers it through the mind of a teen and the help of teens on planet Earth. Caperston is a world that is broken into two different groups. There are the valley people and the mountain people. The valley people look down on the mountain people finding them to be inferior to themselves. But, when Mattpaul begins to ask questions after listening to the thoughts of another person he begins to look for the answers and is surprised by what he finds. The mountain people have many skills that the valley people could use, and thus he sets out on his own journey to bring the two groups together. When he is able to make communication with teens on Earth, he finds that acceptance and love is the only way to unite the people around him and end the divide.
I think there are many church youth groups that would greatly benefit from this read. It is insightful without being in your face and offers a unique science fiction aspect that will bring in many young readers.

Phil Bolos  April 3, 2021

New Review from Readers Favorite  :

In The Chest of Visions by Tim Ferguson, the Mountain people and the Valley people live in a parallel universe called Caperston. The population of Caperston is divided with the Valley people believing the Mountain people are inferior to themselves. One teenager from the Valley named Mattpaul lives on Lake Gael in very fortunate circumstances since his father is the second in command to the ruler. Although he has no knowledge of God, he soon discovers his existence through correspondence with teenagers from planet Earth. Mattpaul becomes intrigued by the moral teachings of God around forgiveness, equality, and humility. Mattpaul begins to question everything he has been conditioned to believe and learns quickly that the penalty for questioning the status quo can be severe. As Mattpaul begins his mission to spread the word of a learned teacher named Chihaysu, he realizes that freedom of thought and speech comes with a price.

The Chest of Visions by Tim Ferguson is such a fascinating concept; that teenagers from parallel universes discover such similarities between their faith and beliefs. I absolutely adored Mattpaul as a character, his strength of conviction to stand up and fight for his beliefs was admirable. The similarities between Jesus and Chihaysu also made for a really interesting comparison, especially their views on how every human is equal. I thought the themes covered such as life after death, sinful behavior, forgiveness, and miraculous healing from the perspective of each universe would make an important discussion session for youth religious groups. There are some chapters that cover the scientific viewpoint and others that are more spiritual in nature but every chapter is both thought-provoking and enlightening. There are incredible life lessons in each chapter and although they are subtle, the message is extremely powerful. The book also covers some important religious questions, such as why God allows evil behavior in society, the importance of prayer, and how to respond when your faith is tested. This is a superb read and one that belongs on every Christian's bookshelf.

Leslie Jones, May 2, 2021

Newer Review by Ali Ayyez received May 10, 2021:

 

The author Tim Ferguson in his book The Chest of Visions brilliantly illustrates parallel universes. The writer has a comprehensive writing style, and every bit of the book inspires readers. The storyline revolves around another planet, Caperston, where two distinct people live. The valley people discriminate against mountain people. They do not know God, and here writer gives a powerful spiritual and religious message to the readers, especially teen readers. The writer intelligently conveys the note that we are not alone. In our life journey, we must keep our faith high in God. The book Chest of Visions is a simple read with a hopeful message. It is indeed a must-read for every sci-fi lover.

For purchase information and more reviews of the 2020 longer version of The Chest of Visions: Secrets of Caperston, please click:

The Chest of Visions: Secrets of Caperston. It is a sci-fi story deeply connected to a religious message. I think this would be great to discuss in youth religious groups, as it touches on topics such as empathy, prejudice, and communication between different groups who believe in different things.                     

Marcia,  April 14, 2021

book sniffer ad 2.jpg
---#1-Transparent-bestseller1 (2).png
New york city bronze medal award.png

For Reviews and Purchase with Audio Version , please click:

The Chest of Visions: Secrets of Caperston

It is here...

requested update  - 30% longer

with new descriptive text

bronze-shiny-web.webp

 "Engaging, exciting, entertaining, and easy-to-read! Ferguson's super-cool little book, "The Chest of Visions," brilliantly captures the essence of the Gospel message "

Melissa Jagel
chest of visions early art_edited-3.jpg

Third Place in Reader's Favorite Contest

caperston youth.gif

Tim Ferguson uses parallel spiritual universes to illustrate that we are never alone in our journey through life. Page after page, he showed me his easy-to-understand writing style and stories, some personal and other inspirational ones, to demonstrate God's presence in life during the good and bad times.

Evelyn , February 12, 2021

Tim Ferguson skillfully combines his creative imagination into a story of hopefulness, fearlessness, and intrigue.

Richard Blake

"The Chest of Visions, Secrets of Caperston is a must read for everyone... I began reading it with my ten year old grandson one day. When I came back one week later he had finished the book on his own and said he cannot wait to read the sequel.”

"This story was written for young adults; however, I enjoyed it very much. Tim Ferguson is very creative and has found a wonderful way to reach youth."

Ann B. of Reader's Favorites
MATTPAUL-PICS-TEXTS-6x9_6lg.gif
Man-who-talked-to-trees.gif

"I read this book with a thirteen year old girl and once we were finished I asked her how she felt about our experience. She said it definitely made her think about many things in her own life and in her walk with God."

Not the Same Old, Done-it-Before Youth Meetings" ... has lots of fun activities but, much more importantly, it addresses the need to challenge the minds and hearts of our young people.

Marie Haugh
Shirley Johnson

The Chest of Visions is "a brilliantly written piece of sci-fi. The writer has used a very simple way to tell the readers about the preaching of God."

 

" Is Tim Ferguson light years ahead of his time and could this story be brought to life one day? Tim Ferguson has done a fantastic job seamlessly weaving two parallel worlds together. This book needs to be stocked in every church, classroom, library and bookstore. A great introduction to religion. "

 

Murphy Brown,  February 23, 2019

Sophie  ... July 20, 2019

He  has done a brilliant job. The characters blend in perfectly. The concept of duo-universe conversation adds to the excitement of the book. The contexts are easy to understand and the readers can relate to the various situation quite easily. My favorite part of the book is when Matt helps Alex to overcome from the death of his best friend. It shows how people from different universe can connect and help each other. 

"I must commend Tim Ferguson for writing such a beautiful story in very simple words. It is a rare book, with a well thought out storyline, that presented the truth in its simplest form. ."

MATTPAUL-PICS-TEXTS-6x9_23r.gif

More Information:

The Chest of Visions: Detailed Reviews

 

Updated Version with 30 additional pages of details about the world of Caperston,  and the dreams of its youth.

For discounted purchase, please click: 

The Chest of Visions: Secrets of Caperston

                           

Kobi, July 2019

This novel establishes the place of God in the future of humanity in a creative and eloquent manner. Tim Ferguson is a great storyteller and he writes in prose that is gorgeous, at times lyrical, conjuring strong imagery to embellish the worlds he has created while stirring the hearts of readers with the beauty of the message. The Chest of Visions: Secrets of Caperston is a story that communicates hope and assures readers that God finds a way to reconnect with lost humanity. It is gripping and entertaining. 

Grace Masso, Readers Favorite  May 2, 2021

CHESTVISIONS2-color-MED-RES.jpg

It is available ... New Pathways 'cross Broken Highways

There is a lot to enjoy in this short and epic fantasy. The characters are memorable and well-explored, the plot filled with surprising twists and intriguing moments. The writing is beautiful and the narrative voice exciting. Tim Ferguson writes with confidence and creates a setting that leaves readers with many vivid images in their minds.

honor-flat-web.webp
#4campfire.jpg

Fourth Place

Reader's Favorite

Contest

MATHEW-PAUL.gif

Alex, a troubled youth from Earth travels to the world of Caperston through a wormhole in spacetime. He meets a Messiah and his youthful followers, who are attempting to support the mistreatment of one class by a priveleged class in the world of Caperston. Great drama follows over an 18 month period, leading up to a climax connecting youth in Caperston and their friends on Earth. Themes of forgiveness and prayer are highlighted as the youth make efforts to fulfill their dreams for a more equal world, motivated by the calling of God.

Matthew-Paul from Earth

Alex from Earth featured on cover.

CHEST-COMIC-PAGE-3-ink-1.jpg

The sequel to The Chest of Visions: Secrets of Caperston surprisingly has many twists and turns considering the number of pages. The heady turn of events and the numerous characters are easy to follow though because Ferguson is consistent and does not veer away from the message for young readers. Without sounding preachy, and without too many words, the story's theme comes out loud and clear and this is what makes the novel unforgettable.

Maria Beltran,  Readers’ Favorite   May 2020
in prison singingBW.jpg
MIchaeling.gif
Huchfee-for-video.gif

Michaeling and Huchfee from Caperston

This is an amazing and unique book. It is a Christian science fiction novel about youth in parallel universes, who somehow have gotten into communication with each other by email. The entire story is told from the point of view of the youths themselves, through the technique of presenting just the text of their email exchanges. Mr. Ferguson is an experienced youth group leader, and this book shows his spiritual gift. He presents spiritual truth while making it very interesting to young people of all ages. The book’s most exciting event is the trial of Chihaysu, Christian leader on Caperston. Read the book to find out what happens!


I highly recommend it, both for entertainment and spiritual content. .

Steve Simon, May 2020

Discounts offered by the Publisher, Resource Publications, Wipf and Stock Publishers

For discounted purchase, please click:  The Chest of Visions: New Pathways 'Cross Broken Highways

Not the Same Old, Done-it-Before Youth

Meetings" ... has lots of fun activities but,

much more importantly, it addresses the need

to challenge the minds and hearts of our

young people.

Not the Same Old, Done-it-before Youth Meetings:

360 pages of activities: icebreakers, Bible studies on angels, Revelation and more. Seasonal activities and skits

Excellent and unique ideas

I would recommend this to any Christian youth group. 

L. Dove ,  January 2018
Nalini Durgana

Tim is amazingly creative, coming up with themes and ideas for communicating the gospel to youth that are fresh, fun and above all do the job.

 When I read this book. I realized this is really, really, well done. You can tell by his exuberance, his enthusiasm, that he has been a real blessing to the youth he has worked with for over thirty years

This book is available

for purchase on

Amazon.com 

please click here

to be redirected. 

Larry Winkler, Radio Talk Show Host
Rev. Kennedy McGowan

'My goal was to write the book for young Christian youth leaders I wanted to have when I started Christian Youth Programs over thirty years ago.' 
Tim Ferguson, Community Presbyterian Church, Deer Park, NY

 

 

 

 

To learn more ways to meet your Group's Unique needs... all 

while having fun, helping Christian teens make new Christian friends 

Offering Christian youth games and activities that enhance the faith of youth and youth leaders together....

  Not the Same Old Done-it-before Youth Meetings is a God-send!! You have laid out in an organized and easy-to-read fashion so many wonderful ideas and activity plans that we will never again feel uncomfortable when getting ready for our next Christian Youth Group meeting. I am new to the role of Youth Group leader and your book gives me confidence that we can indeed succeed with God's help.

Laura Cooley, St. Paul's Church, Patchogue, NY
 

I cannot wait to use some of the Christian youth lessons and awesome activities Tim has put in the book.

Cathy Murray, Junior High Teacher, Community Presbyterian Church, Deer Park, NY
yes.jpg